Office of State Attorney
First Judicial Circuit
Possession of Alcohol by a Person Under the Age of 21
If you have been arrested or cited for Possession of Alcohol by a Person Under the Age of 21, in Okaloosa or Walton County, Florida, and you are eligible*, you have two options:1. Appear in court on the date given to you in your citation
2. Avoid court and enter into a Deferred Prosecution Agreement (DPA)
*Eligibility is not guaranteed. Certain prior arrests and/or convictions can affect eligibility.
To enter into a DPA, you must electronically register for a DPA (available on next page). You must electronically sign your DPA once received, and do so before any scheduled court date listed on your citation or arrest form.
By entering into a DPA you will be entering into an agreement with the State of Florida for a period of three months, starting on the date the DPA is electronically signed and received. You will then be required to agree to the following conditions:
- Waive the right to a speedy trial
- Pay Courts Costs ($220.00 Okaloosa County / $250.00 Walton County)
- Pay $150 Cost of Prosecution
- Not violate any laws during the three month term
- Notify the Clerk of Court within ten (10) days of any change of address.
The decision you make should be made by you and/or through the advice of your legal counsel. No information on this page should be interpreted as legal advice. If you have obtained an attorney then you should not contact our office and should not complete the registration on the next page.